I had been holding on for you,
To please your discerning eye.
In the middle of the blue,
Of the sea and of the sky.
Thousands stared and admired,
not that I was keeping score,
but then many aspired,
to try and do even more.
You abused me, trampled me,
As your race tends to do.
You made it harder to hold on,
all to see a nice view.
I intended to be here longer,
and if man had not intruded,
I might have been stronger,
and my story not have been concluded.
But the blues finally got to me,
And I succumbed to my fate.
I hope all who’d wished to had seen me,
for now it is too late. – Claire

Leave a Reply

